Skip to main content
Innovation and Inspiration: The Campaign for Kansas University
University Archives & Manuscripts - Facts & Flyers
Truman Scholarship

The Harry S. Truman Scholarship Foundation was established by Congress in 1975 as the official federal memorial to honor our thirty-third President. The Foundation recognizes President Truman's contributions to the nation, his commitment to public service, and his interest in education. The Foundation awards scholarships to college students who have outstanding leadership potential, plan to pursue careers in government or elsewhere in public service, and wish to attend graduate school to help prepare for their careers.

Year Selected Name Major
1980 Margaret Grosh
Manhattan, Kansas
Sociology and Economics
1982 David Carlin
Smolan, Kansas
Political Science and Pre-Law
1982 Mike Gibson
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Political Science and Pre-Law
1983 Brad Russell
Topeka, Kansas
Political Science and Speech
1983 Tracy Turner
Great Bend, Kansas
Economics, Political Science and Pre-Law
1984 Cynthia Leighton
Overland Park, Kansas
History and Pre-Law
1985 Patty Hipsher
Wichita, Kansas
Political Science and Modern Languages
1986 Lori Shellenberger
Ransom, Kansas
Pre-Law, Political Science, History, and German
1986 Kent Bradley
Lawrence, Kansas
Nutrition Science and Pre-Med
1987 Janice Norlin
Concordia, Kansas
Political Science, Public Administration and Women's Studies
1987 Jeff Wing
Altoona, Kansas
Political Science, Economics and Pre-Law
1988 Mary E. Hale
Topeka, Kansas
History and Political Science
1988 Sharon Patnode
Abilene, Kansas
Political Science and Public Administration
1989 Kristi Parker
Valley Center, Kansas
Political Science and Pre-Law
Clint Riley
Manhattan, Kansas
Chemical Science, Philosophy and Pre-Law
1991 Alicia Poteat
Fort Riley, Kansas
Political Science, Women's Studies and Pre-Law
1991 Jean Sonnenfield
Omaha, Nebraska
Biology and Pre-Veterinary Medicine
1992 Scott Truhlar
Ellsworth, Kansas
Pre-Medicine and Pre-Law
1994 C. Charles Walters
Anoka, Minnesota
1996 Shanté Moore
Junction City, Kansas
Political Science and Latin American Studies
1997 Justin Kastner
Manhattan, Kansas
Food Science and Industry
1997 Vicki Choitz
Salina, Kansas
Political Science, Women's Studies and Education
1998 Timothy J. Riemann
Derby, Kansas
Agricultural Economics and Pre-Law
1998 Ryan E. Bock
Kansas City, Kansas
Political Science and Modern Languages
2000 Sarah Glaser
Emporia, Kansas
Biology and Natural Resources/Environmental Sciences
2002 Leslie Small
Arkansas City, Kansas
Agricultural Economics
2003 Jessica Burch
Wichita, Kansas
2004 Brooklyn Lippelmann
Lyons, Kansas
Political Science and International Studies
2005 Victoria Luhrs
Overland Park, Kansas
Secondary Education
2006 Kourtney Bettinger
Beloit, Kansas
Pre-Medicine, Spanish, International Studies, and Latin American Studies
2007 Jenna Kennedy
Hoxie, Kansas
Pre-Medicine, Microbiology, and Natural Resources/Environmental Sciences
2009 Dena Bunnel
Welda, Kansas
Political Science, Agricultural Communications and Journalism
2010 Amy Sents
McPherson, Kansas
Animal Science and Pre-veterinary medicine
2011 Melanie J. Hall
Junction City, Kansas
Psychology and Pre-medicine