K-State Libraries have a number of computerized indexes available that provide information on grain science and milling:
Agricola is a computerized version of the bibliographic database of the U.S. National Agricultural Library. This index includes all aspects of agriculture. It covers 1970 to the present and is updated quarterly. It contains citations to journal articles, government documents, state experiment station and state extension service publications, books, reports, conference proceedings, and some theses. Many of the older records do not include abstracts.
Biological Abstracts
covers all aspects of biological science, including: botany, zoology, microbiology,
clinical and experimental medicine, biochemistry, biophysics, and related
areas. It includes information on agricultural topics. Information is drawn
from some 9,000 journals from more than 100 countries. Electronic coverage
at K-State Libraries is 1985 to the present. It is updated quarterly.
Biological & Agricultural
Index covers the subject fields of agricultural chemicals, agricultural
economics, agricultural engineering, animal husbandry, biochemistry, biology,
biotechnology, botany, ecology, entomology, environmental science, food science,
forestry, genetics and cytology, horticulture, microbiology, nutrition, physiology,
plant pathology, soil science, veterinary medicine, and zoology. Includes
citations to journal literature, symposia, and book reviews. It is a smaller
index, covering only some 220 agriculture and biology journals.
CAB Abstracts contains abstracts and bibliographic references to the world's literature in agriculture, life sciences, veterinary medicine and related disciplines. Over 11,000 English and foreign-language journals, conference proceedings, books, reports, theses, and patents are indexed annually. Journal articles comprise 85% of the database. Approximately 67% of the documents are English language. Subject coverage includes animal sciences, crop production and protection, plant breeding and genetics, horticulture, agricultural economics, rural development and sociology, plant pathology, forestry, human and animal nutrition, agricultural engineering, veterinary medicine, and leisure, recreation and tourism. Coverage is 1972 to the present.
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP)
This is the official source of bibliographic information for U.S. Government publications. Users can search the entire catalog or specific subsets, choosing either a basic, advanced, or expert search option. Recent material may also have links to full text.
Compendex
The electronic version of Engineering Index, Compendex is the most comprehensive bibliographic database of engineering research available today, containing over eight million references and abstracts taken from over 5,000 engineering journals, conferences and technical reports dating back to 1969.
CRIS is the USDA'S Current Research Information System. This database provides information on some 35,000 ongoing U.S. research projects in agriculture, food and nutrition, forestry, natural resources and related fields. It covers research conducted or sponsored by the USDA, state agricultural experiment stations and land grant universities, veterinary medical schools, and other cooperating state institutions. Each record includes summaries of the objectives, approach, and annual progress, as well as lists of publications resulting from the research. Available without restriction via the Web.
Food Science and Technology Abstracts (FSTA)
Indexes 1,800 publications in 40 different languages. Subjects included cover all human food commodities and aspects of food processing from the production of raw food to the consumption of finished foods. Also included are economics, standards, legislation, and engineering relating to food science and technology.
Grain Genes
A database for Triticeae and Avena from the Agricultural Research Service of the US Department of Agriculture. . The database is a compilation of molecular and phenotypic information on wheat, barley, rye, triticale, and oats. The project is supported by the USDA-ARS Plant Genome Research Program, and by the community of scientists who are providing the information and the reasons to be interested in it. An Internet resource in public domain.
GPO Access
A service of the U.S. Government Printing Office. It contains bibliographic citations for more than 500,000 records of documents. It indexes all types of U.S. Federal Government documents, including: Congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records; judiciary materials; and documents released by executive departments.
Inspec
Provides access to the world's scientific literature (bibliographic citations and indexed abstracts) from publications in the fields of physics, electrical and electronic engineering, communications, computer science, control engineering, information technology, manufacturing and mechanical engineering, operations research, materials science, oceanography, engineering mathematics, nuclear engineering, environmental science, geophysics, nanotechnology, biomedical technology, and biophysics. It indexes journals, conference preceedings, and books.
IEEE Xplore
Provides full text access to technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics published through the IEEE and IEE Society. IEEE Xplore contains full text documents from IEEE journals, transactions, magazines, letters, conference proceedings, standards, and IEE (Institution of Electrical Engineers) publications.
Knovel
Over 1500 digital versions of books across a wide range of scientific and engineering fields. Browse by subject or title, or search across part or all of the collection by keyword.
K-State Research Exchange (K-REx)
Full text of theses, dissertations, and reports submitted by K-State graduate students. In most cases, papers are available by the end of the semester in which the student graduates. Coverage begins Fall 2006 for doctoral dissertations and Fall 2007 for masters papers, although some theses and dissertations are available from Fall 2004-Summer 2006.
Plant Management Network
The Network's primary goal is to provide a comprehensive Internet resource for applied plant science information. Resources include seed & pest control field trial publications, an image collection, an education & training center, a plant science database, and several peer-reviewed journals. Some areas covered are agronomy, biosecurity, ecology, entomology, horticulture, plant pathology, turf managment, and weed science.
Web of Science
Online version of the three Citation Indexes: Science, Social Sciences, and Arts and Humanities. In addition to searching by keyword, subject, author, etc. for articles in over 8,000 journals, one can do a "cited reference" search to see how frequently and where an article has been cited. Web of Science is one of our best databases. Also an excellent source for finding book reviews.