Loan Periods and Fines

Both academic and community patrons are eligible to borrow K-State Libraries’ materials.

Patron Type Loan Period Renewable
K-State undergraduates 30 days 11 times
K-State graduate students and staff 120 days 2 times
K-State faculty 6 months Automatically once
Kansas residents (with Community Patron Card)
30 days 11 times
Visiting faculty, researchers, and scholars 30 days 11 times
     

You may renew books in person at a service desk and online in your My Library Account. If your office or lab is on campus, consider the Renew It program. Please return borrowed material to designated return areas.

Exceptions

Special material exceptions to the general loan periods include:

Materials Loan Period Renewable
Post-2005 journals 7 days No
Maps 30 days 1 renewal
DVDs & videotapes 30 days 1 renewal
Leisure Collection materials 30 days 1 renewal
     
Interlibrary Loans This will vary according to the lending library
Contact Interlibrary Loan
     

 Borrower Responsibilities

You are responsible for the material you borrow. Please pay attention to loan periods, due dates, and return policies.

Keeping your e-mail and postal mailing address up to date with K-State Libraries will help ensure you receive notices in a timely manner. Please read all notices the Libraries send to you.

Finally, familiarize yourself with K-State Libraries’ policies, and Ask a Librarian if you have questions.

Fines

Some materials accrue fines if you do not return them by the due date.

Loan Type Renewable Fine Declared Lost after
7 day loan Yes, one time $1 per day, $7 max 28 days overdue
Leisure Reading Yes, one time No fines unless lost 28 days overdue
30 day loan Yes, 11 times No fines unless lost 28 days overdue
120 day loan Yes, 2 times No fines unless lost 28 days overdue
6 months loan Yes, 1 automatic  No fines unless lost 28 days overdue
Interlibrary Loan Check band for restrictions No fines unless lost 14 days overdue
Reserves: 2 hour loan No $2 per hour, $200 max 28 days overdue
Reserves: all other loans No $5 per day, $54 max 28 days overdue
Recall No $5 per day, $25 max

28 days overdue

 

You may pay fines by cash or check at any library service desk or by credit or debit card at the Library Help desk on the second floor of Hale Library. You may also pay online through your My Library Account. Checks made out to K-State Libraries can be mailed to:             

Access Services
222 Hale Library
1117 Mid-Campus Drive North
Kansas State University
Manhattan, KS 66506

If you have lost materials you’ve borrowed, please contact us at (785) 532-3014 so that we can help. We cannot refund lost-book fees after 6 months have elapsed since the fees have been paid.

Last updated: 07/28/2015