Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity, Inc. established their first chapter west of the Mississippi at Kansas State Agricultural College (KSAC). The college’s racially mixed campus became home to the Delta Chapter on April 9, 1917.

Three African-American students founded Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity at Howard University in Washington, D.C., on January 9, 1914. The Founders, A. Langston Taylor, Leonard F. Morse, and Charles I. Brown, organized a Greek letter fraternity that truly exemplified the ideals of brotherhood, scholarship, and service.

Historical documentation about KSAC’s Delta Chapter includes group photographs of members, the Chapter House, and campus buildings, as well as membership lists and descriptions of campus life. There is a substantial amount of information about the Chapter House, located at 1020 Colorado Street, where most of the fraternity brothers lived and social events were held.

To learn more about this collection please visit the Richard L. D. and Marjorie J. Morse Department of Special Collections.