Log In| View Cart (0)
Browse Collections Digital Content Subjects Creators Record Groups

Office of the Provost (1980-) | Morse Department of Special Collections

Name: Office of the Provost (1980-)

Historical Note: The office of the provost and senior vice president at Kansas State University began on July 1, 1980, and was established by university President Duane Acker.  The provost became the chief academic officer of Kansas State University with all of the college deans and affiliated academic departments (such as the library, graduate school, and Division of Continuing Education) reporting to the provost.  The office of the provost and senior vice president works with the president’s office to help manage university priorities, program budget, and faculty policies.  The provost serves as a representative for the president of the university in their absence and is the university’s representative to Council of Chief Academic Officers (COCAO).  Since being established there have been four provosts at Kansas State University Owen Koeppe (1980-1987), James Coffman (1987-2004), Duane Nellis (2004-2009), and April Mason (2009-present).
Sources: Vertical files on the provost were used.
Note Author: James W. Smith

Page Generated in: 0.067 seconds (using 109 queries).
Using 7.32MB of memory. (Peak of 7.49MB.)

Powered by Archon Version 3.21 rev-2.1
Copyright ©2012 The University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign